Photo Gallery | St Johns County Sheriff's Crisis Negotiation Team Named Team of the Year

The St Johns County Sheriff's Crisis Negation Team has been recognized as the team of the year by the Florida Association of Hostage Negotiators.

During a ceremony this morning Allan O'Keefe, FAHN president, presented Sheriff David Shoar and the team with an award for Excellence in Hostage Negations for their work during the 2009 Quinn Gray hostage case, that later became an extortion case. At the time of the Quinn Gray situation, Shoar said that case was one of the most complex of his career and that understanding Gray's thinking was near impossible.

The case study submitted by the team was up against stiff competition. According to O'Keefe, "some cases involved social media and downed officers."

The cases submitted were judged by a team of their peers in hostage negotiation. "Validation from your peers in excellence is truly pinnacle," said Shoar during the ceremony.

According to O'Keefe, the case will now be presented to the General Assembly in 2012 and will be used to educate other teams statewide.

Team Members Honored:

  • Chuck Triffon
  • Damian Treet
  • James Weaver
  • Jeremy Huddelston
  • Melissa Swindull
  • Ricardo Rios
  • Robert Hancock
  • Ronald Hines
  • Shawn Lee
  • Sheldon York
  • Thomas Williams

Community Sponsors

Puppy Kindergarten, Obedience, Behavior Modification, Socialization, AKC CGC & More!
Are you interested in promoting your business to local customers?