Fourteen St. Johns County seniors have qualified as National Merit Semifinalists for 2012 | Schools

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Fourteen St. Johns County seniors have qualified as National Merit Semifinalists for 2012


These students placed among the top 1 percent of all students in the country taking the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test (PSAT)/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test given annually to high school juniors. As fourteen of 16,000 semifinalists nationwide, they are now eligible to advance to the finalist competition to vie for 8,300 scholarships worth more than $34 million to be announced in February.

The semifinalists are Mitchell Zhang from Bartram Trail High School (BTHS); Cody Chasteen and Dylan Klee from Creekside High School (CHS); Maxine Weiss from Pedro Menendez High School (PMHS); Marissa Galiley, Anthony Janocko, Tia Lewis, Carson Ridenhour, Steven Schwartz, Wenli Shao, Dhiraj Sikaria and Logan Stern from Nease High School (NHS); Megan Connors and Carson Drain from Ponte Vedra High School (PVHS).

Also, NHS students Katie Jackson and Ayana Gibson qualified as National Achievement Scholarship Semifinalists recognizing African-American students.

In addition to these semifinalists, the district had 33 Commended Students who scored among the top 5 percent of all students in the country on the PSAT. They are Erin Grey and Sarah Wiegreffe from BTHS;  Rachel Buff, Mario Diaz, Jaime Gebhardt, Emily Golan, Danielle Krusemark, Brendan McLaughlin, Nicole Navarro, Jennifer Neal, Virginia Pedigo, Monica Resto, Courtney Vale and Jessica Walker from CHS.

Also, Sarah Taylor from PMHS; Nolan Alberti, Jordan Bernas, Christina Chase, Graham Hancock, Kathryn Hill, Blake Insel, Caleb Jarriel, Bryce McKenzie, Vivian Nguyen, Liam Rawson, Alex Sengstock, Aaron Skipper, Preston Sluder and Carly Young from NHS; Margaret Egeln, Peter Humbarger and Katelyn Norton from PVHS; Nicholas Dupoux from SAHS.

All semifinalists and commended students will be recognized at the School Board meeting on Tuesday, October 11 at 6 p.m. in the School Board Administration Building auditorium at 40 Orange Street. 


St. Augustine Deals

St. Augustine Businesses